ABOUT US

PCS HISTORY

2012 - 2017

PCS MISSION

Values + Principles

STAFF

Roles + Photos

BOARD + COMMITTEES

Directors + Volunteers

COMMUNITY SQUASH

PCS Model + Best Practices 

HISTORY

Cannell-FullMural-01.jpg

Portland Community Squash was incorporated in 2013 with Barrett Takesian, Sandy Spaulding, and Greg Born serving as the original directors. 

PCS Timeline

 
 

MISSION

Portland Community Squash (PCS) aims to build an accessible community center that holistically supports and unites its members. We envision a community with enough social and human capital to overcome ever-changing societal challenges and prosper.

VALUES

Respect - We support our teammates

Effort - We work hard together

Positivity - We use our energy to uplift others

PRINCIPLES

Access - Remove barriers to reflect the city's population

Equity - Prepare members to thrive

Cohesion - Unite and empower a strong community

 

STAFF

portland community squash 2022203847.jpg

Barrett
Takesian

Executive
Director
barrett@pcsquash.com

winky%20lewis-19969_edited.jpg

Paul
French

Squash
Director
paul@pcsquash.com

winky%20lewis-19993_edited.jpg

Marilu
Fortson

Head Squash
Professional
marilu@pcsquash.com

winky%20lewis-19841_edited.jpg

Sarah
Stickney

Operations
Director
sarah@pcsquash.com

portland community squash 2022203743.jpg

Lucas
Bruns

Development
Director
lucas@pcsquash.com

winkylewis-8024.jpg

Elise
Malongi

Finance+
Membership Director
elise@pcsquash.com

portland community squash 2022203966.jpg

Kelsey
Goodwin

Youth Programs Director
kelsey@pcsquash.com

portland community squash 2022203165.jpg

Meirgani
Alaari

Event+Facility
Director
alaari@pcsquash.com

ADDITIONAL STAFF

PCS also relies on the contributions from many of our high school students and community volunteers.

 

BOARD

PCS_FishHawk (1).png

2013 CLASS

Barrett Takesian (P)

Greg Born

Sandy Spaulding

2016 CLASS

Adam Edwards

Andrew Emmons

2019 CLASS

Beth Lowenstein

Harvey Klugman

2014 CLASS

Amy Ford (T)

Teddy Stoecklein

2017 CLASS

Hawley Strait (VC)

Brooke Teller (S)

2020 CLASS

Chris Lutes

Mahmoud Hassan

Ruweda Ali

2015 CLASS

Marion Freeman

2018 CLASS

Emily Birchby

John Beliveau (C)

2021 CLASS

Divine Nduwimana

Kifah Abdulla

Megan Savage

BOARD ALUMNI

Bob Gould (2015-2018), John Robinson (2017-2020), Rosie O'Donnell (2018-2021), Meirgani Alaari (2020-2021)

COMMITTEES

For an up to date listing of committee members, please view this google doc - LINK

 

COMMUNITY SQUASH

Leveraging squash to create multicultural and multigenerational communities

An open-source book with the road map to start a community squash or community anything center

All the back of house best practices that we have developed over the years

It's in draft mode, but this is the document that steers our entire organization